Monday, March 7, 2016

Adenan to announce all 82 BN candidates this month

Sarawak Chief Minister Tan Sri Adenan Satem says he will soon start naming all 82 Barisan Nasional candidates, including direct candidates, for the upcoming state elections. "(The announcement of BN candidates) at random, group by group, until the end of the month," he told reporters when asked on BN's list of candidates. Adenan, also state BN chairman, said the announcement was underway, but he did not divulge whether he had the complete list of candidates ready. "(The announcement) Starting yesterday. Some I had already announced," he added. Adenan, who is also Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) president, yesterday confirmed that both Sebuyau and Beting Maro constituencies would be contested by incumbents Datuk Julaihi Narawi and Razaili Gapo. Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) president Tan Sri James Masing had said the Adenan had endorsed the names of 11 candidates for the party but Adenan has yet to announce the names officially. The other two BN component parties – Sarawak United People's Party (SUPP) and Sarawak Progressive Democratic Party (SPDP) – had been in deadlock over seat negotiations with its splinter groups. SUPP has so far refused to allow any of its 19 seats to be contested by United People's Party (UPP), its splinter party. Similarly, SPDP will not give away any of its eight seats to Parti Tenaga Rakyat Sarawak (Teras). To resolve the SPDP-Teras and SUPP-UPP impasse, Adenan said he would create his own Barisan Nasional (BN) team and only chosen BN candidates were allowed to use BN's symbols. Meawhile, Adenan said they are still paring BN's manifesto for the Sarawak election due in the next two months. – March 7, 2016.]]>

No comments:

Post a Comment